Historical Significance

Built in 1925, the building served as an educational and social center for the developing neighborhood of Leeway.

The Citizen’s Association held its first meeting there on May 7, 1925. Until recently, it was a well-used center of community activities and services, home to LAC. The building and its grounds are a unique "gathering space."

It is a valuable resource, worthy of restoration for continued use.

The architect, Percy Crowely Adams, also designed the Rixey Mansion, the Barcroft School, the Avalon Theatre, and the Longworth House Office Building, all of which are still in use today.

D.C Architechts Directory

The building's facade is notable for its Art Deco elements, such as the porthole window above the front entrance, the glass-block windows on the lower level, the spacing of the upper-level windows, and the masonry bands below the roof line.

Applied to the Classical Revival style, these elements are a reference to the Modern and an example of the bridging of eras and styles that may be unique for public buildings in the County.